Coverart for item
The Resource The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport, Jonathan Lichtenstein

The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport, Jonathan Lichtenstein

Label
The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport
Title
The Berlin shadow
Title remainder
living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport
Statement of responsibility
Jonathan Lichtenstein
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In 1939, Jonathan Lichtenstein's father Hans escaped Nazi-occupied Berlin as a child refugee on the Kindertransport. Almost every member of his family died after Kristallnacht, and, arriving in England to make his way in the world alone, Hans turned his back on his German Jewish culture. Growing up in post-war rural Wales where the conflict was never spoken of, Jonathan and his siblings were at a loss to understand their father's relentless drive and sometimes eccentric behaviour. As Hans enters old age, he and Jonathan set out to retrace his journey back to Berlin. Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary, this is a highly compelling account of a father and son's attempt to emerge from the shadows of history. For readers who enjoyed East West Street, The Berlin Shadow is a beautiful memoir about time, trauma and family."--Amazon
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lichtenstein, Jonathan
Dewey number
940.5318
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Lichtenstein, Jonathan
  • Lichtenstein, Jonathan
  • Lichtenstein, Hans
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
  • Jewish refugees
  • Refugee children
  • Kindertransports (Rescue operations)
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Fathers and sons
Label
The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport, Jonathan Lichtenstein
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published in the United Kingdom by Scribner UK, August 2020
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1150999876
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First North American edition.
Extent
311 pages
Isbn
9780316541015
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1150999876
Label
The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport, Jonathan Lichtenstein
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published in the United Kingdom by Scribner UK, August 2020
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1150999876
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First North American edition.
Extent
311 pages
Isbn
9780316541015
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1150999876

Library Locations

    • Boxford Town LibraryBorrow it
      7A Spofford Road, Boxford, MA, 01921, US
      42.6926190 -71.0151645
Processing Feedback ...